UIC releases 2016-17 non-conference schedule

UIC announced its 2016-2017 non-conference schedule Monday, and the headliners are DePaul, Grand Canyon, Loyola and Northern Illinois. When you factor in UIC welcoming seven newcomers to the 2016-2017 roster, in addition to the six returnees from last season, this schedule could potentially yield some early season wins heading into Horizon League play.

DePaul is entering year two under a new coaching staff as well, and they will also be integrating new players. Grand Canyon finished with 27 wins and tied for second place in the WAC under Dan Majerle’s third year at the helm. Loyola is also bringing in numerous newcomers, but they are trending upward with their new wave of reinforcements arriving. Northern Illinois had its first winning season in year five under Mark Montgomery. Like UIC, Northern Illinois has several underclassmen that boast great potential.

“We’ve tried to put together a schedule that will not only test our team, but will also prepare us well for the challenges we’ll face in the Horizon League,” UIC coach Steve McClain. “We’ve got a stretch around Thanksgiving, and another after final exams, when there isn’t a whole lot of time in between games to prepare. The veterans know what to expect and they can help give a lot of our younger players a greater understanding of what the process will be like when we shift to conference games in late December and January. You’ve got to be ready to go hard every single night.”

Here is the full schedule:
November 11

At San Francisco (15-15 in 2015-2016)


November 16

UTSA (5-27 in 2015-2016)


November 19

Trinity Christian (9-21 in 2015-2016)


November 23

Cal Poly (10-20 in 2015-2016) at Northern Illinois Tournament


November 25

Elon (16-16 in 2015-2016) at Northern Illinois Tournament

November 26

Northern Illinois (21-13 in 2015-2016) at Northern Illinois Tournament


November 30

Chicago State (4-28 in 2015-2016)


December 4

Eastern Illinois (13-17 in 2015-2016)


December 10

At Grand Canyon (27-7 in 2015-2016)


December 14

At DePaul (9-22 in 2015-2016)


December 17

Loyola (15-17 in 2015-2016)


December 20

Northern Arizona (5-25 in 2015-2016)


December 22

Roosevelt (12-16 in 2015-2016)

Author: Jesse Kramer

Jesse Kramer is the founder of The Catch and Shoot. He's a graduate of the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University. He has had work featured on SI.com, College Insider, The Comeback/Awful Announcing, and 247Sports.

Leave a Reply