2015-16 All-Chicago Awards

Better late than never! Although the 2015-16 season has been over for more than two months, here are The Catch and Shoot’s yearly awards for Chicago hoops.

Photo: Marc Lebryk / USA Today Sports
Photo: Marc Lebryk / USA Today Sports

All-Chicago Team

Bryant McIntosh, Northwestern

Tre Demps, Northwestern

Dikembe Dixson, UIC

Montel James, Loyola

Tai Odiase, UIC


Chicago Player of the Year — Bryant McIntosh

McIntosh finished ninth in the nation and second in the Big Ten with 6.7 assists per game. He also averaged 13.8 points, which puts him in line to become a 1,000-point scorer about halfway into his junior season.


All-Chicago Freshman Team

Eli Cain, DePaul

Fred Sims, Chicago State

Dikembe Dixson, UIC

Aaron Falzon, Northwestern

Dererk Pardon, Northwestern


Chicago Freshman of the Year — Dikembe Dixson

Dixson was a monster at UIC, averaging 19.8 points and 7.3 rebounds. He was far from efficient, but a lot was asked of the 6-foot-7 forward, who finished the season with a 31.9 percent usage. Dixson recorded 16 games with 20 points or more, including a career-high 40 points in a double overtime loss to Youngstown State in February.


All-Chicago Defensive Team

Ben Richardson, Loyola

Trayvon Palmer, Chicago State

Sanjay Lumpkin, Northwestern

Tai Odiase, UIC

Rashaun Stimage, DePaul


Chicago Defensive Player of the Year — Tai Odiase

Odiase led the nation with 3.2 blocks per game. His 11.6 block rate ranked No. 8 in the nation. Enough said.


Team of the Year — Northwestern

Although Northwestern missed out on the postseason once again, the Wildcats won 20 regular season games for the first time in school history. If Michigan guard Zak Irvin had not knocked down an overtime game-winner against Northwestern in the Big Ten Tournament, the Wildcats would have had a legitimate shot at an NIT bid.


Coach of the Year — Chris Collins, Northwestern

The Northwestern program remains nationally irrelevant, but locally it is starting to pick up some steam. Collins finished his first winning season in year three as the team went 20-12 and 8-10 in the Big Ten. With continued success on the recruiting trail, the arrow continues to point up for Northwestern, although there could a step back in 2016-17 after losing seniors Tre Demps and Alex Olah.


Game of the Year — Loyola 59, Northern Iowa 56 (Feb. 17)

Loyola played more than its share of nail-biters last season, as both winners and losers, and this February matchup with Northern Iowa takes the cake. Loyola was fresh off an excruciating loss to Evansville, where the Ramblers turned a 19-point deficit into a one-point lead before losing on a D.J. Balentine game-winner with 21 seconds remaining.

Loyola trailed Northern Iowa by seven early in the second half and trailed by a bucket in the final minute. Montel James’ three-point play gave the Ramblers a lead, and Earl Peterson’s free throws with six seconds left helped seal it. With a 59-56 lead, the Ramblers intentionally fouled Wes Washpun with two seconds left. Washpun missed the first free throw then intentionally missed the second. Northern Iowa grabbed the offensive rebound but failed to get off a game-tying 3-pointer.

Author: Jesse Kramer

Jesse Kramer is the founder of The Catch and Shoot. He's a graduate of the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University. He has had work featured on SI.com, College Insider, The Comeback/Awful Announcing, and 247Sports.

Leave a Reply